Esports
TFT Vegas Open: Everything You Need to Know

How to Watch, Format Explainer, Drops, Trophy Reveal and more!

EsportsAuthorTFT Esports Staff
  • Copied to clipboard

From December 8 - 10, TFT will be taking over the MGM Grand for the biggest global LAN tournament in TFT history! Tune in to see 512 competitors battle it out for the chance to win $100K, a one-of-a-kind emote, a special trophy belt, and the title of TFT Vegas Open Champion! Here’s everything you need to know about the TFT Vegas Open.

For more information on the event and prizes, check out our previous announcement here.

Main Event Format

The TFT Vegas Open will feature an open-bracket format for 512 players over 3 intense days of competition. A full breakdown of the event format can be found below.

Seeding

Players will initially be seeded based on an average of their Set 9 & 9.5 ranking. After Round 1, players will be seeded via snake draft based upon the points they earn throughout the tournament.

Point System

Throughout the tournament, points will be awarded to each player based on the results of each game: 8/7/6/5/4/3/2/1 (ie: first place wins 8 points, eighth place wins 1 point).

Event Schedule

Day 1 - December 8

  • Round 1: 512 players will be split into Lobbies of 8 and play 3 games each. The top 4 players from each Lobby will advance to Round 2.
  • Round 2: 256 players will be split into Lobbies of 8 and play 3 games each. The top 4 players from each Lobby will advance to Round 3.

Day 2 - December 9

  • Round 3: 128 players will be split into Lobbies of 8 and play 4 games each. The top 2 players from each Lobby will advance to Round 4.
  • Round 4: 32 players will be split into Lobbies of 8 and play 4 games each. The top 2 players from each Lobby will advance to the Finals.

Day 3 - December 10

  • Finals: The top 8 players will play in a checkmate format. The first player to earn 20 points, and then get 1st place in a game will be crowned the TFT Vegas Open Champion!

You can find a full competitor list with all 512 players, as well as the brackets and results of each game on www.tftvegasopen.com.

How to Watch

As you can imagine, the TFT Vegas Open will be unlike any event Riot Games has ever created, and unlike anything we've seen before for TFT. Since we’ll have many games taking place simultaneously on days 1 and 2, we’ve decided to offer additional ways to watch the event. This includes the main featured broadcast, 6 on-site costreamers each covering their own game, and 9 feeds of other open bracket games! Let’s get into how each of these will work.

Broadcast Schedule

Make sure to tune in on December 8 - 10 to catch the first TFT global LAN event!

TFT_TVO_PrimerArticle_Schedule.jpg

  • Dec 8 - 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 8PM GMT
  • Dec 9 - 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6PM GMT
  • Dec 10 - 11 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6PM GMT

Main Broadcast Talent

Meet the on-air talent for the main featured broadcast:

TFT Vegas Open Costreams

Follow along with some of your favorite TFT content creators through their official costreams of the tournament:

Competition Lobby Options

If you want to check out lobbies that are not featured on the main broadcast or one of the costreams, we will be streaming up to 9 other lobbies for anyone who wants to see how the rest of the competitors are doing!

Alternate lobbies can be viewed via the following links:

Drops

Watch the Vegas Open for your chance to win an exclusive in-game emote! The emote will be available for each day of the competition - check out the games on Twitch for your chance to earn.

TFT_TVO_PrimerArticle_Drop.jpg

Trophy Reveal

It’s shiny. It’s beautiful. It’s… a little much. When chaos is unleashed and the dust settles, this belt will go to the last tactician standing. Discover the Teamfight Tactics Vegas Open Belt.

TFT_TVO_PrimerArticle_Trophy.jpg

TFT Official Channels

Stay up-to-date on the latest TFT announcements and updates by following our channels:



  • Copied to clipboard

Related Articles
Related Articles